Because of cantonal instructions regarding the current health situation, museums must temporarily close. Guided visits as well as meditation courses are thus suspended until further notice. Thank you for your understanding and hoping to welcome you again soon.

Current Events

 

lotusArt and Meditation Meditation sessions on Monday and Thursday evenings starting 19th October 2020.

Information and registration by phone 032 861 35 10 or
e-mail: info@fondation-bf.ch


The Foundation

The story of a passion
for art and beauty

Upon the initiative of Gerard and Theresa Burkhardt-Felder, both passionate collectors and lovers of art, the Foundation Burkhardt-Felder Arts and Culture was established in 2002. It aims to acquaint a large public with two specific art forms: the art of Australian Aborigines and international motorcar design, developed by famous producers.

The founders Theresa and Gérard Burkhardt lived in Australia for twenty-five years. During that time, they became acquainted with Aboriginal art, the artistic expression of one of the oldest cultures in the world, dating back almost 60,000 years. They were impressed with their spiritual concept, which includes respect for nature and earth, and with their complex sociocultural history. The art of the Aborigines, an impressive amalgam of sacred motifs and vibrant colours, expressed in contemporary fashion, fascinated them.

Parallel to Australian Aboriginal art, the founders developed an interest in the history of motorcars. A sense of perfection, a search for rarity and excellence as well as the collectors’ passion for the aesthetics and the mechanics of top range cars led to a collection of rare and exclusive models, representing a lifestyle practised from the end of the 19th century up till 1980.

Back in Switzerland, they desired to share their passion with the public. For this reason, they set up the Foundation Burkhardt-Felder Arts and Culture in Môtiers, Val-de-Travers in the Canton of Neuchâtel.


The Museums

The two museums of the Foundation are situated on the domain of the historic Château d’Ivernois: the Museum for Australian Aboriginal Art “La grange” and the Motorcar Museum “Le manège”.

They take the visitor on an impressive journey through times and continents, art and technology, tradition and modernity.

Museum La Grange

The Museum of Australian
Aboriginal Art

The Museum of Australian Aboriginal art “La grange” is part of the historic building complex of the Château d’Ivernois in Môtiers which dates back to the early 18th century. It reveals the richness, the diversity and the extraordinary vitality of the contemporary art of the Australian Aborigines.

The former agricultural building, built in 1721, was extensively converted into a museum from 2003 until 2006. Since its inauguration in 2008, this fine exhibition space offers an ideal setting for the beauty of Aboriginal art. The authentic, unchanged wooden structure from the 18th century enhances this unique ambience.

Musem Le Manège

The Motorcar Museum

The Motorcar Museum “Le manège” is situated in the park of the Château d’Ivernois and houses the car collection of the Foundation Burkhardt-Felder Arts and Culture. It consists predominantly of rare models in concert with the collectors’ passion for motorcar aesthetics and refined mechanics.

The former riding hall, built in 1856, was entirely renovated during the years of 2003 to 2006. The interior of the building was transformed to meet the functional requirements of a modern showroom.

Since its opening, the museum presents over twenty exceptional motorcars, illustrating the exciting history of the automobile from 1897 to 1980.


The exhibitions

La grange

Voyage across Aboriginal Australia
Founders’ Favourites

From 7th June 2020
to 31st October 2021


Voyage across Aboriginal Australia. Founders’ Favourites shows works particularly dear to the founders of the foundation, Theresa and Gerard Burkhardt. This new exhibition pays tribute to the founding artists of the contemporary Aboriginal art movement as well as to the more recent generations of renowned painters and sculptors of Aboriginal Australia.

The selection of almost forty powerful artworks, impregnated with ancient wisdom but created with the latest techniques stems from the collection of the Burkhardt-Felder Foundation. It represents Australia's most important artistic regions and also includes the latest expressions in Aboriginal art. The exhibition takes the viewer on a pictorial journey through space and time across the entire Australian continent.

On this Voyage, the visitor will discover the iconic works of the founding artists in Papunya Tula in the Western Desert as well as the intensity of paintings created by Emily Kame Kngwarreye and the Petyarre sisters in Utopia. Continuing exploration leads to the minimalist ochre paintings in the Kimberley, Western Australia. In between, the visitor comes across a collaborative work by the Spinifex people, which highlights the important role of art in land claims. With an expressive painting by Timothy Cook, the journey continues to the Tiwi Islands. On the upper floor, the impressive, two meter by seven meter big starry night sky by Alison Multa Napurrula calls for a meditative pause.

Voyage across Aboriginal Australia provides the visitor with a panoramic view of the contemporary art scene of Aboriginal Australia and leads to the discovery, or rediscovery, of this ancient culture, rich in spirituality and creativity.

With the kind support of
Loterie Romande

Le manège

Permanent Exhibition
at the Motorcar Museum

From mid-May to mid-December
by appointment only


The Motorcar Museum “Le manège” today accommodates over twenty exceptional motorcars, produced between 1897 and 1980, some of which excel by their uniqueness.

Amongst the particularly noteworthy models exhibited is the first car used in the Val-de-Travers, a Jeanperrin 1897, as well as the most expensive motorcar in 1916, a Crane Simplex, which can be admired in its original state. The nobility of a Rolls Royce Silver Ghost or Phantom meets with the extravagance of an Auburn, Cord or Lagonda of the Thirties. The Voiturette BNC, nicknamed at the time “Bugatti of the Poor Man” stands next to a real Bugatti from the Thirties. In addition to the eccentricity of a Lamborghini and the technical genius of a Ferrari, the visitor will also discover a cut out car chassis to demonstrate the mechanics and the functioning of a car.


Visit

Museum «La grange»

Opening Hours

2020: 7th June to 1st November
2021: 14th May to 31st October
Friday, Saturday, Sunday,
from 2pm to 6pm

Guided visits all year by appointment

Entry Fees

Adult 12
AHV/AVS, Student 8
Child (up to 12 years) free
Groupmin. 8 persons 7 per person
Guided visit(DE, FR, EN, ES) 100 + entry fee
Guided visit
for school classes
(DE, FR, EN, ES)
100 + reduced entry fee

Information and bookings


PHONE +41 32 861 35 10
or
E-MAIL info@fondation-bf.ch

Museum «Le manège»

Opening Hours

From mid-May to mid-December,
By appointment only

 

Entry Fee

Guided visit
(DE, FR, EN, ES)
15 (min. CHF 120)

Guided Visit of Both Museums

Visite guidée
(DE, FR, EN, ES)
30 (min. CHF 240)

Aperitif

Your visit to the Museum of Australian Aboriginal Art “La grange” and to the Motorcar Museum “Le manège” may be accompanied by an aperitif suited to your needs and desires. Please enquire about our tailormade aperitif suggestions ranging from a glass of sparkling wine (CHF 12.- p.p.) to Apéro riche (CHF 30.- p.p.)

Depending on the weather, the aperitif will be served in the park of the Château d’Ivernois or in the Museum “La grange”.

Map

Geführte Besichtigungen und Meditationskurse werden ab 26. April wieder aufgenommen.


Die Stiftung

Geschichte einer Faszination für Kunst und Aesthetik

Die Stiftung Burkhardt-Felder Kunst und Kultur wurde auf Initiative von Theresa und Gérard Burkhardt, leidenschaftliche Sammler und Kunstliebhaber, im Jahre 2002 gegründet. Sie macht sich zur Aufgabe, in ihren beiden Museen ein grösstmögliches Publikum mit zwei spezifischen Kunstrichtungen vertraut zu machen: mit der Kunst der australischen Aborigines sowie mit Zeugnissen berühmter Produzenten von seltenen und aussergewöhnlichen Automobilen.

Die Gründer Theresa und Gérard Burkhardt lebten während fünfundzwanzig Jahren in Australien. Während dieser Zeit durften sie die Kunst der australischen Aborigines mit ihrer 60'000 Jahre alten Kultur kennen lernen. Diese Kunst mit ihrer spirituellen Vitalität und dem darin zum Ausdruck gebrachten Respekt für die Natur beeindruckte sie ebenso wie das uralte - und doch so moderne - Konzept der Ganzheitlichkeit als Teil ihrer komplexen soziokulturellen Geschichte. Kunst als ergreifendes Amalgam heiliger Motive und vibrierender Farben, mythisch und zeitgenössisch zugleich: Unter diesem Leitsatz bietet die Stiftung heute durch ihr Engagement Künstlerinnen und Künstlern sowie einem interessierten Publikum eine wertvolle Plattform.

Parallel zur Kunst der australischen Aborigines entwickelten die Stiftungsgründer ein Interesse für die Automobil-Geschichte und für Sammlerautos. Der Sinn für Perfektion, die Suche nach Seltenheit und Exzellenz sowie die Leidenschaft der Sammler für die Ästhetik und Mechanik der Spitzenklasse führten zu einer Sammlung von seltenen und exklusiven Modellen, Ausdruck eines sich wandelnden Lebensstils zwischen dem Ende des 19. Jh. und den 1980er Jahren.

Zurück in der Schweiz war es ihnen ein Anliegen, ihre Sammlungen der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen. Zu diesem Zweck gründeten sie in Môtiers, im Val-de-Travers, Kanton Neuenburg, die Stiftung Burkhardt-Felder Kunst und Kultur.


Die Museen

Die zwei Museen der Stiftung befinden sich auf dem Gelände des historischen Château d’Ivernois: das Museum für die Kunst der australischen Aborigines «La grange» und das Automuseum «Le manège».

Sie laden den Besucher ein zu einer eindrücklichen Reise durch Kontinente und Epochen, Kunst und Technik, Tradition und Moderne.

Museum La Grange

Museum für die Kunst der australischen Aborigines

Das Museum für die Kunst der australischen Aborigines «La grange» gehört zum historischen Gebäudekomplex des Château d’Ivernois in Môtiers und datiert aus dem frühen 18. Jh. Es enthüllt den Reichtum, die Vielfältigkeit und die einzigartige Vitalität der zeitgenössischen Kunst der australischen Aborigines.

Das ehemalige Wirtschaftsgebäude aus dem Jahre 1721 wurde von 2003 bis 2006 aufwendig zu einem Museum ausgebaut. Seit seiner Eröffnung im Jahre 2008 bietet dieser Ort einen einzigartigen Rahmen, um die Kunst der australischen Aborigines zur Geltung zu bringen. Ein besonderes Ambiente verleiht dem Raum das seit dem frühen 18. Jh. unveränderte Holzgebälk.

Museum Le Manège

Automobilmuseum

Im Park des Château d’Ivernois in Môtiers beherbergt das Automuseum «Le manège» die Autosammlung der Stiftung Burkhardt-Felder Kunst und Kultur. Ihre Zusammensetzung aus mehrheitlich seltenen Modellen entspricht der Leidenschaft der Sammler für automobile Ästhetik und raffinierte Mechanik.

Die ehemalige Reithalle aus dem Jahr 1856 wurde in den Jahren 2003 bis 2006 vollständig renoviert. Nach innen erfuhr das Gebäude einen grundlegenden Wandel, um den funktionellen Ansprüchen eines modernen Showrooms gerecht zu werden.

Seit seiner Eröffnung präsentiert das Museum über zwanzig erlesene und wertvolle Exponate aus den Jahren 1897 bis 1980, Zeugen der faszinierenden Automobilgeschichte.


Ausstellungen

La grange

Voyage across Aboriginal Australia
Founders’ Favourites

Vom 7. Juni 2020
bis 31. Oktober 2021

VERLÄNGERUNG BIS
30. OKTOBER 2022

Voyage across Aboriginal Australia. Founders‘ Favourites zeigt die Coups-de-coeur-Werke der Stiftungsgründer Theresa und Gerard Burkhardt. Diese neue Ausstellung ehrt die wegbereitenden Künstlerinnen und Künstler der Gründungsphase der zeitgenössischen Bewegung wie auch die späteren, renommierten Maler- und Bildhauer-Generationen.

Die Auswahl von rund vierzig kraftvollen, von uraltem Wissen geprägten, aber in neuen Techniken erschaffenen Kunstwerken aus der Sammlung der Stiftung Burkhardt-Felder Kunst und Kultur vertritt die wichtigsten Kunststätten Australiens und beinhaltet auch die neuesten Expressionen aus der Kunst der Aborigines. Die Ausstellung nimmt uns mit auf eine malerische Reise durch Raum und Zeit des australischen Kontinents.

Auf dieser Voyage entdeckt der Besucher die ikonischen Werke der Gründungskünstler von Papunya Tula in der Western Desert sowie die Intensität der Bilder von Emily Kame Kngwarreye und der Petyarre Schwestern in Utopia. Eine weitere Erkundung führt zu den minimalistischen Ockerwerken aus der Region der Kimberley in Westaustralien. Dazwischen entdeckt der Besucher ein Gemeinschaftswerk des Spinifex-Volkes, das in seiner Kunst auch eine politische Komponente zum Ausdruck bringt und hier den Blick auf die brisante Kontroverse um Landansprüche richtet. Mit einem ausdrucksvollen Bild von Timothy Cook geht die Reise weiter zu den Tiwi-Inseln. Auf der oberen Etage des Museums verführt der beeindruckende, zwei Meter auf sieben Meter grosse Sternenhimmel von Alison Multa Napurrula den Betrachter zu meditativem Innehalten.

Voyage across Aboriginal Australia bietet dem Besucher einen umfassenden Einblick in die zeitgenössische Kunstszene der australischen Aborigines und führt zur Entdeckung – oder Wiederentdeckung – dieser abertausendjährigen Kultur, reich an überlieferten Traditionen, Spiritualität und Kreativität.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der
Loterie Romande

Le manège

Permanente Ausstellung
im Automuseum

Mitte Mai bis Mitte Dezember
auf Voranmeldung


Das Automuseum «Le manège» beherbergt heute über zwanzig aussergewöhnliche Automobile, deren Fabrikation und Produktion sich von 1897 bis 1980 erstreckt und wovon einige einmalig sind auf der Welt.

Unter den besonders erwähnenswerten Modellen befindet sich das erste Auto im Val-de-Travers, ein Jeanperrin 1897, wie auch das weltweit wertvollste Auto im Jahre 1916, ein Crane Simplex, das in seinem Originalzustand zu bewundern ist. Die Noblesse eines Rolls Royce Silver Ghost oder Phantom kontrastiert mit der Extravaganz eines Auburn, eines Cord oder eines Lagonda der 30er Jahre. Eine Voiturette BNC mit dem seinerzeitigen Übernamen „Bugatti des armen Mannes“ steht neben einem echten Bugatti von 1932. Zusätzlich zur Exzentrik eines Lamborghini oder der technischen Genialität eines Ferrari entdeckt der Besucher ein aufgeschnittenes Wagenchassis, das einen faszinierenden Einblick in die technische Komplexität der Mechanik bietet.


Besuch

Kunstmuseum «La grange»

Öffnungszeiten

2021: 14. Mai bis 31. Oktober
2022: 20. Mai bis 30. Oktober
Freitag, Samstag, Sonntag
von 14 Uhr – 18 Uhr

Geführte Besichtigungen das ganze Jahr über bei Voranmeldung

Eintrittspreise

Erwachsene 12
Senioren und Studenten 8
Kinder bis 12 Jahre gratis
Gruppentarifab 8 Personen 7 pro Person
Geführte Besichtigung(DE, FR, EN, ES) 100 plus Eintrittspreis
Geführte Besichtigung
für Schulklassen
(DE, FR, EN, ES)
100 plus reduzierter Eintrittspreis

Auskünfte und Reservationen


TELEFON +41 32 861 35 10
oder
E-MAIL info@fondation-bf.ch

Automuseum «Le manège»

Öffnungszeiten

Von Mitte Mai bis Mitte Dezember
mit geführter Besichtigung, auf Voranmeldung

 

Eintrittspreis (beinhaltet Führung)

Von 1 - 8 Personen 120 (Pauschalpreis)
Gruppen von mehr als 8 Personen 15 pro Person
Geführte Besichtigung in DE, FR, EN, ES

Geführte Besichtigung
beider Museen

Von 1 - 8 Personen 240 (Pauschalpreis)
Gruppen von mehr als 8 Personen 30 pro Person
Geführte Besichtigung in DE, FR, EN, ES

Aperitif

Ihr Besuch im Museum für die Kunst der australischen Aborigines «La grange» und im Automuseum «Le manège» kann von einem auf Sie abgestimmten Aperitif begleitet werden.

Verlangen Sie unsere massgeschneiderten Aperitif-Vorschläge, von der Schaumwein-Flûte bis zum Apéro riche. Je nach Wetter wird der Aperitif im Park des Château d’Ivernois oder im Museum «La grange» serviert.

Karte